Sofia Coppola And Others Win Top Prizes As 70th Cannes Film Festival Wraps


The 70th Cannes Film Festival wrapped up this year with several big surprises. The Killing of a Sacred Deer and You Were Never Really Here both tied for the best screenplay award. Sofia Coppola became the first female director to win the Best Director award at Cannes in 56 years for The Beguiled, an adaptation of Thomas Cullinan’s Civil War novel about a wounded soldier who takes refuge among the inhabitants of a girls’ school in Virginia. Joaquin Phoenix and Diane Kruger were awarded best actor awards for their respective roles in You Were Never Really Here and In The Fade, the latter of which featured Kruger speaking in her native German. Additionally, Nicole Kidman received a special award for her appearances in four of this year’s festival entries, including The Beguiled, The Killing of a Sacred Deer, How to Talk to Girls at Parties, and Top of the Lake. Other noteworthy entries include BPM (Beats Per Minute), a drama focused around the French gay-rights movement in the early 90s that earned this year’s Grand Prix, and Ruben Östlund’s The Square, about a high-class museum curator who is forced to mingle with lower class members when he is pick-pocketed on the street. A full list of this year’s winners is provided below….

Main Competition

Palme d’Or: The Square (Ruben Östlund)

Special Prize: Nicole Kidman

Grand Prix: BPM (Beats Per Minute) (Robin Campillo)

Director: Sofia Coppola, The Beguiled

Actor: Joaquin Phoenix, You Were Never Really Here

Actress: Diane Kruger, In the Fade

Jury Prize: Loveless (Andrey Zvyagintsev)

Screenplay — TIE: The Killing of a Sacred Deer (Yorgos Lanthimos, Efthimis Filippou) and You Were Never Really Here (Lynne Ramsay)

Other Prizes

Camera d’Or: Jeune femme (Montparnasse-Bienvenüe) (Léonor Serraille)

Short Films Palme d’Or: Xiao Cheng Er Yue (Qiu Yang)

Short Films Special Mention: Katto (Teppo Airaksinen)

Golden Eye Documentary Prize: Faces Places (Visages Villages) (Agnès Varda, JR)

Ecumenical Jury Prize: Radiance (Naomi Kawase)

Un Certain Regard

Un Certain Regard Award: A Man of Integrity, Mohammad Rasoulof

Best Director: Taylor Sheridan, Wind River

Jury Prize: Michel Franco, April’s Daughter

Best Performance: Jasmine Trinca, Fortunata

Award for Poetry of Cinema: Mathieu Amalric, Barbara

Directors’ Fortnight

Art Cinema Award: The Rider (Chloe Zhao)

Society of Dramatic Authors and Composers Prize — TIE: Lover for a Day (Philippe Garrel) and Let the Sunshine In (Claire Denis)

Europa Cinemas Label: A Ciambra (Jonas Carpignano)

Critics’ Week

Grand Prize: Makala (Emmanuel Gras)

Visionary Prize: Gabriel and the Mountain (Fellipe Barbosa)

Society of Dramatic Authors and Composers Prize: Ava (Léa Mysius)


Competition: BPM (Beats Per Minute)

Un Certain Regard: Closeness (Kantemir Balagov)

Directors’ Fortnight: The Nothing Factory (Pedro Pinho)

Leave a Reply