[MADE] This is the North

theview copySome might forget that we have places to see outside of Minneapolis and St.Paul. Maybe not those who are from here – I’m mostly referring to those who aren’t native to the state. Minnesota has one hell of a landscape, you just have to put the miles on your vehicle to get there.

theview_12 copyWhether it is Grand Marais, Tettegouche State Park, Gooseberry Falls, the Palisade Head waters – the list goes on and on. It is really something that everyone in the midwest should experience. You can find cliffs to dive off, waterfalls, and some cold ass water to swim in. Jus to add to the experience, there are literally endless miles of trees and water with little to no civilization surrounding you. I mean, these are glacier lakes that have been well preserved for many years. See it to believe it.

Stay tuned for more photos to come.

By: K-Vogz

Open Streets: East Lake Street


Location: Lake Street between Elliot Avenue & 42nd Avenue
When: Sunday, August 2nd // 11AM-5PM

This year’s Open Streets series will make it’s next stop along the eastern section of Lake Street. A section that includes many different cultural hot spots, you’ll also be able to stop by the Midtown Global Market on the event’s western border. Open Streets are family friendly events and will showcase live music, various games, local food vendors, local craft vendors, and a variety of other things to do. All ages of course, Open Streets: East Lake runs along the green way allowing for easy access, click the link below for more information.

OpenStreetsMPLS.org: East Lake Street

Lollapalooza 2015


Location: Grant Park, Chicago
When: Fri-Sun, July 31st-August 2nd

Lollapalooza kicks off tonight, Paul McCartney, Metallica, and Florence + The Machine will headline the event while other performances will include Kid Cudi, Tame Impala, Sam Smith, Bassnectar, A$AP Rocky, Father John Misty, G-Eazy, Flying Lotus, Tyler The Creator, Toro Y Moi, FKA Twigs, Mick Jenkins and Logic. Like every year, Lolla sold out in a matter of minutes, so if you’re dying to go you’ll have to grapple with re-sellers on Craigslist or scalpers on Michigan Ave. The only tickets left are the VIP Lounge passes that will run you a cool $1850, be our guests and click the link below if you’re interested.

Lollapalooza VIP Lounge Tickets

Actor Tommy Lee Jones Joins Matt Damon In Cast Of Upcoming ‘Bourne’ Sequel


Oscar-winner Tommy Lee Jones will be joining Matt Damon in the upcoming fifth installment in the ‘Jason Bourne’ series, thus far only titled Bourne 5. Captain Phillips and Bourne Ultimatum director Paul Greengrass will be returning to helm the project, which will also star series veteran Julia Stiles (The Bourne Supremacy, Silver Linings Playbook), Viggo Mortensen (The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King, Hidalgo), and Alicia Vikander (Ex Machina, The Man from U.N.C.L.E.). Matt Damon and Paul Greengrass will be writing the film along with returning Bourne screenwriter Christopher Rouse (The Italian Job, The Bourne Ultimatum), but no details regarding the plot are known at this time. Producer Frank Marshall (Indiana Jones-Raiders of the Lost Ark, Back to the Future) will produce with Jeffery Weiner under Captivate Entertainment. Stay tuned for more news!

Prophetta & John Shrimpnose LIVE @ 7th Street Entry w/ Killstreak


Location: 701 1st Avenue N, Minneapolis
When: Sunday, August 2nd @ 7:30PM

After killing Honey earlier this month, Prophetta & John Shrimpnose will be back at 7th Street Entry this Sunday. The lineup for this one is thick with performances from Chantz Erolin, Rich Garvey, Killstreak, Write Groove, Sayth and North House; a solid crew for what should be a great night. Doors are 18+ and only $5, if you know what’s up you’ll definitely stop be in attendance; click the link below to grab tickets.

Prophetta & John Shrimpnose Tickets

Reo Galor – Gnarly


MPLS MC Reo Galor took to Twitter earlier today to drop a new single titled “Gnarly.” A lighthearted pursuit of a good night ensues as the record unfolds. Reo brings the listener through an evening of excess, a much needed break from the daily grind. Produced by BC100, the instrumental allows Reo to show off his versatility. A solid record, we’re definitely interested to hear more. Check out “Gnarly” below and keep an eye out for more from Reo Galor.

Lyrical Lemonade’s 2 Year Anniversary Party

Lyrical Lemonade

Location: 3420 W Grace Street, Chicago
When: Thursday, August 6th @ 8:30PM

Cole Bennett and the people over at Lyrical Lemonade will celebrate their second anniversary with quite the bang in about a week. The Chicago based brand has quickly established itself in a scene that continues to build a wide variety of talent. The night will feature performances from Martin $ky, Roy French, Netherfriends and a few other special guests, as well as artwork, food, clothing and of course free lemonade. This is definitely one of the more notable nights to kick off the month of August in Chicago, besides tickets are only $5 bucks, click the link below to grab yours now.

Lyrical Lemonade 2 Year Anniversary Tickets

Cultivate Festival


Location: Grant Street & Willow Street, Minneapolis (Loring Park)
When: Saturday, August 22nd // 11AM-7PM

Along with Phoenix and Kansas City, Minneapolis has once again earned a spot on Chipotle’s “Cultivate Festival” route. The festival showcases just about everything Chipotle with in depth looks at the business process from farm to table. The event will also feature live music from Walk The Moon, Hippo Campus, X Ambassadors, Atlas Genius, Anderson East and DJ Christopher Golub. If that wasn’t enough there will be chef showcases featuring some of Minneapolis’ top culinary specialists as well as food trucks for those who come hungry. This one is all ages and FREE, click the link for more information via Cultivate Festival’s official website.

Chipotle: Cultivate Festival Minneapolis

Berner LIVE @ Reggie’s Rock Club


Location: 2105 S State Street, Chicago
When: Wednesday, August 5th @ 6:30PM

Taylor Gang affiliate and fine Marijuana purveyor, Berner, will be live at Reggie’s Rock Club next Wednesday on his “Cookies or Better” tour. The Sacramento MC will be joined by a cast of fellow west coasters in Demrick, J-Hornay, and Anonymous That Dude. This show is definitely going to get cloudy, tickets are only $13 in advance ($15 @ door), however; those attending will have to brave the all ages crowd. With Lolla taking over this weekend the next week or so should be pretty crazy, click the link below for tickets.

Berner Tickets

Kids Like Us Farewell Show @ 7th Street Entry

Kids Like Us

Location: 701 1st Avenue N, Minneapolis
When: Friday, August 7th @ 9PM

It’s the end of an era. Minneapolis crew, Kids Like Us, will perform their final show under that moniker early in August. Details regarding the event are pretty scarce but we do know that DJ Abilities will be live spinning a set that is sure to be memorable. No telling what’s in store for the members of Kids Like Us, but hopefully a new found sense of independence transfers over creatively. There will be plenty of special guest appearances throughout the evening, those who attend can expect a one of a kind night. This one is 18+ and tickets are only $8 in advance ($12 @ door) click the link below to grab yours tickets now.